Sri Lanka wins toss, bats first in 5th ODI vs. Australia

Fri, Jun 24, 2022
Other News (AP)

Sri Lanka wins toss, bats first in 5th ODI vs. Australia

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP) - Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first in the fifth one-day international against Australia on Friday.

Sri Lanka handed an ODI debut to Pramod Madushan in three changes from Tuesday's four-run win which gave the hosts an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match series.

Danushka Gunathilaka and Dinesh Chandimal are also getting a game at Colombo's R. Premadasa Stadium. Sri Lanka left out Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella and Wanindu Hasaranga.

Australia's injury problems continued as Travis Head was ruled out with a hamstring injury. Josh Inglis makes his ODI debut.

Australia's tour of Sri Lanka has been plagued by injuries with Sean Abbott (fractured finger), Marcus Stoinis (side), Kane Richardson (hamstring) returning home. Mitchell Starc (cut finger), Ashton Agar (side), Steve Smith (quad) and Head (hamstring) are staying on tour with the hope of being fit for the test series.

The tour is all square heading into the two-match test series, with Australia winning the Twenty20 format 2-1 and Sri Lanka taking the ODI portion.

The first test starts Wednesday in Galle.


Sri Lanka: Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Pramod Madushan.

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Kuhnemann, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood.


More AP cricket: and

Article Copyright © 2022 The Associated Press, All Rights Reserved.