10 Things You Should Know About The Preakness Stakes

Tue, May 9, 2023
by CapperTek

For all horse riding fans out there you will have heard of the Preakness Stakes before. It is a race day that contains over 150 years of history, and is the second chapter of the Triple Crown. 

This race takes place at the Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore. You should keep an eye on betting preakness 2023, to see which horses are the favorites to win this year. This race usually takes place after the Kentucky Derby. While, the winner of these two winners often takes home the Triple Crown.

In this article we have collected together the 10 things you ought to know about the Preakness Stakes.

1. Short Race

The Preakness is the shortest of the Triple Crown contests at 1 3/16 miles long. The Belmont is 1 1/2 miles long, whereas the Kentucky Derby is 1 1/4 miles long.

When compared to running, the Preakness is a sprint, the Kentucky Derby is an intermediate distance race, and the Belmont is seen as a marathon.

Being victorious in all three requires a particular breed of horse. There have only ever been 13 horses to accomplish this in history.

2. Old Race

In May 1873, the inaugural Preakness Stakes was held. Yet, when you add up 150 races, you see that the math doesn't match.

This is due to the fact that there were years lost around 1890 and no documentation of the Preakness occurring. Therefore, despite the fact that the first Kentucky Derby was run in 1875, it asserts to have been run more frequently than the Preakness.

3. Winners Win A Vase

The 30-pound and 3-foot tall, Woodland Silver Vase, which was made by Tiffany and Co. in 1860, is given to the owners of the Preakness winner.

The prize, which was worth $1 million, changed hands several times up until 1953. The proprietors of Native Dancer realized they didn't want to be held personally liable for the jewel. 

While the original vase is on display at the Baltimore Museum of Art, winners now receive a sterling duplicate of it.

4. Draped In Fake Flowers

Everyone is aware that the Kentucky Derby is known as “The Run for the Roses,” with the champion being crowned in a circle of red roses.

In the Preakness, the winning horse is presented with black-eyed Susan's, Maryland's official flower. However, black-eyed Susan's grow in the summer. As a result, at the end of the race, the winning horse is presented with Viking poms with a dyed black center.

5. It’s Been Held Not Only In Maryland

As already mentioned, there have been years when this event was not run. According to research, the Preakness took place at Gravesend Race Track at Coney Island, New York, for a period of 15 years, from 1894 to 1908.

Then in 1909, it returned to Pimlico, where it has been held ever since.

6. Signature Cocktail

You may already be familiar with the Kentucky Derby and their signature drink, the mint juleps. Well you're in for a treat if you've never had a black-eyed Susan, the official drink of the Preakness Stakes. 

For those who enjoy a cocktail, you need to taste this one. It is a combination of orange juice, vodka, sweet and sour mix and bourbon. 

7. Painting The Winning Colors

NBC will pan up to the Pimlico weather vane within a few minutes shortly after the race is over. The winning horse's colors and number will already be painted there by a skilled painter.

This Triple Crown race is the only one with such a history. Pimlico has a focus on art. Seven murals may be found all throughout the stadium.

8. Lucky Positions

Fans of horse racing like using any bit of good fortune or coincidence. Some horses who have competed in Preakness races in the past like to be ridden from a particular stall. Posts 1, 2, 3, and 5 have produced a total of twelve winners. Therefore, it is safe to presume that any horses in these stalls have a good chance of crossing the line first. 

9. The Longest Long Shot

Although Master Derby makes a wonderful horse name, he finished a mediocre fourth during the 1975 Kentucky Derby. Master Derby was the 23-1 outsider in the Preakness, but he defeated the winner of the Derby, Foolish Pleasure, by one length.

His odds of winning the Preakness remain the highest of all time.

10. Who Is The Fastest?

The legendary horse Secretariat was initially timed at 1:53.4 when he triumphed in 1973, however technology has advanced since then. A new timing technology was employed by the Maryland Racing Commission in 2012. This demonstrated that Secretariat actually completed the 1 3/16 miles in 1:53.0.

Thus, Secretariat is considered the fastest Preakness winner of all time.

Final Thoughts

The Preakness Stake is the second leg in many horses' journeys for the Triple Crown. Overall, this is the shortest race, which can offer unbelievable results. 

We hope this article has been helpful. We have provided you with 10 things you need to know about the Preakness Stakes.